Resources for Entrepreneurship

The links below are a few popular resources on entrepreneurship.  They reflect a wide array of topics and styles, and are by no means comprehensive. 

Philadelphia University Library Resources

Books on Innovation and Entrepreneurship by PhilaU authors:

Disrupt Together - How Teams Consistently Innovate

New Venture Creation

 

Market Research

ABI/INFORM Complete:

Search ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry

Business Insights (Global):

Business Insights is an easy-to-search compendium of information about companies and the industries in which they operate. It brings together information from business magazines and journals, reference works such as the International Directory of Company Histories, analyst reviews of companies (Investext), market research reports, financials and other types of information about companies and industries. An SIC search is built into the interface. B&CR is an excellent starting point for company research, and public company research in particular.

Hoovers Online:

An easy to use database of company financial information, as well as profiles of industries. The database provides access to more detailed "subscriber" only areas of Hoovers. Use the "advanced" search to locate companies by criteria such as industry code, sales size and more.

Statista:

Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets

Ibis World:

IBISWorld is one of the world's leading publishers of business intelligence, specializing in Industry research and Procurement research. Since 1971, IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information.

 

Learning:

Atomic Learning http://www.philau.edu/atomiclearning/

Udacity https://www.udacity.com/

Code Academy https://www.codecademy.com/

Code School https://www.codeschool.com/ 

Coursera https://www.coursera.org/

 

 

Planning & Strategy (Relevant Sites)

 

Business Model Generation http://www.businessmodelgeneration.com/

Business Model Canvas https://bmfiddle.com/f/#/

Template of BMC

Business Plan http://www.bplans.com/

Create business plans, view sample plans in your industry, and get advice

Canva https://www.canva.com/

“Canva enables anyone to become a designer”

SME Pals www.smepals.com

Advice for planning and strategy

HARO http://www.helpareporter.com/

HARO provides journalists with a robust database of sources for upcoming stories and daily opportunities for sources to secure valuable media coverage.

WSJ Calculator http://www.wsj.com/public/page/news-small-business-startupCalculator.html

Startup costs, Startup assets, Recurring costs

 

Minimum Viable Product

Pop app https://popapp.in/

Marvel App https://marvelapp.com/

Quick MVP http://quickmvp.com/

NextFab http://www.nextfab.com/

Hive 76 http://www.hive76.org/

Microsoft Biz Spark https://www.microsoft.com/bizspark#grow-two

 

Creating Website/ Blog

Weebly www.weebly.com

Wix www.wix.com

Wordpress www.wordpress.com

Squarespace www.squarespace.com

Shopify www.shopify.com

 

Funding

Dorm Room Fund www.dormroomfund.com

KIVA Zip www.kiva.org

Fundera https://www.fundera.com/#homepage-content

Knights Foundation http://knightfoundation.org/what-we-fund/

Angel Venture Fair http://www.angelventurefair.com/

Kickstarter www.kickstarter.com

Indiegogo www.indiegogo.com

First Round Capital http://firstround.com/

Robin Hood Ventures http://www.robinhoodventures.com/

 

Competitions

Cupids Cup http://www.cupidscup.com/

Knights Cities Challenge http://www.knightcities.org/

Forbes Under 30 $1M Change the World Competition https://herox.com/Under30

Project Entrepreneur http://projectentrepreneur.org/

ASME ISHOW https://thisishardware.org/?outreach=15

Hult Prize http://www.hultprize.org/

Rise of The Rest http://riseofrest.com/

More Competitions? https://www.f6s.com/

 

Entrepreneur Job Opportunities

Jobs + Contracting + Freelance

The Muse www.themuse.com

Creative Circle https://www.creativecircle.com/

Upwork www.upwork.com

Freelance www.freelance.com

Freelancers Union www.freelancersunion.org 

Elance www.elance.com  

Residency | Fellowships | Accelerator | Incubator

Venture For America http://ventureforamerica.org/

DreamIt www.dreamit.com

Good Company Ventures http://www.goodcompanyventures.org/

Philadelphia Fashion Incubator http://www.philadelphiafashionincubator.com/

Novotorium http://novotorium.com/

Project Liberty http://www.sep.benfranklin.org/project-liberty/

Hatch House Ventures http://www.hatchhouseventures.com/

More Accelerators? https://www.f6s.com/

 

Helpful Videos:

Business Model Canvas

Lean Startup

Iqbal Quadir – Social enterprise success story

Yvon Chendard – Founder of Patagonia on bringing sustainability into business

A vision for successful non-profits

10 Great Ted Talks for Entrepreneurs

Kauffman/Khan Academy Series of Interviews with Entrepreneurs

How great leaders insprire, Simon Sinek

 

Blog Sites Every Entrepreneur Should Visit

Eric Ries Blog

Fred Wilson

Guy Kawasaki

Seth Godin

Chris Borgan

Anita Campbell

Sean Ogle – Lifestyle Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship.org 

SCORE 

Ted 

Social Media Examiner

ProBlogger

A Smart Bear

Under30 CEO

Tara Gentile

Design Sponge Biz Ladies

Forbes Woman

Looking For more blog sites and resources, checkout this article 

 

News Sites for Entrepreneurs

Entrepreneur http://www.entrepreneur.com/ http://www.womenentrepreneur.com/

Inc www.inc.com

Foundr https://foundrmag.com/

Fast Company http://www.fastcompany.com/

Tech Crunch http://techcrunch.com/startups/

Mashable www.mashable.com

Forbes www.forbes.com

Technical.ly http://technical.ly/

Business Week https://www.bloomberg.com/businessweek

 

Useful Guides and Templates:

SBA Business Plan Writing Guide

Kauffman Entrepreneurship School

Startup Business Planning Templates from SCORE

blackstone